Ithaca Fantastik


Ithaca Fantastik Announces 2016 Award Winners!

5th Edition of Festival Concludes with TRAIN TO BUSAN After Five Days of Exciting Films and Events in Upstate New York!

Ithaca Fantastik is proud to announce this year’s esteemed award winners. For the 2016 edition of upstate’s most provocative film festival, we are thrilled to present our annual Jury Awards, Audience Awards, and new addition, Cinema Pur Audience Award.

This year’s jury was comprised of Jenn Wexler (Producer, Glass Eye Pix), Rob Hunter (Chief Film Critic, Film School Rejects) and Sueyoung Park-Primiano (Professor, Ithaca College).  Nine films were in our Int’l Fantastic Competition, and six films in our vanguard Cinema Pur Competition.


  • Jury Award for Best Film: SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD by Chris Peckover

  • Jury Award for Best Director: André Øvredal for THE AUTOPSY OF JANE DOE

  • Jury Award for Best Screenplay: Carson D. Mell for ANOTHER EVIL

  • Audience Award for Best Film: SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD by Chris Peckover

  • Audience Award for Best Cinema Pur Film: SHE’S ALLERGIC TO CATS by Michael Reich

  • Audience Award for Best Short Film: THE TUNNEL by André Øvredal

Thank you to all our audience, film guests, staff and volunteers that could make the 5th edition of Ithaca Fantastik such a fantastic success! We eagerly look forward to next year, when we plan to return with even more vigour!